January 2014

The Replacement by Rachael Wade - Blog Tour!

,

Summary from Goodreads

*Contains sexually explicit content and mature subject matter, including language and elements of abuse.*

A gritty New Adult drama about a young woman’s self-destructive quest to find purpose, self-worth, and love in a broken world.

My name is Elise Duchamp. I’m twenty-three years old and I’m known as the town whore.

No, not the kind who exchanges sexual favors for money. The other kind. The kind who gives it all away for free, whenever and however she likes. I am that girl. The one everyone whispers about and the one none of the girls seem to like, because all of their boyfriends either want to sleep with me or already have.… Read more >>>

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Summary from Goodreads

Tally can’t wait to turn sixteen and become pretty. Sixteen is the magic number that brings a transformation from repellent Ugly into a stunningly attractive Pretty, and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks, Tally will be there.

But Tally’s new friend, Shay, isn’t sure she wants to be Pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the Pretty world – and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn Pretty at all.… Read more >>>

Waiting on Wednesday #56

,

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:
The Bodies We Wear by Jeyn Roberts
 
 Summary from Goodreads
People say when you take Heam, your body momentarily dies and you catch a glimpse of heaven. Faye was only eleven when dealers forced Heam on her and her best friend, Christian. But Faye didn’t glimpse heaven—she saw hell. And Christian died.

Now Faye spends her days hiding her secret from the kids at school, and her nights training to take revenge on the men who destroyed her life and murdered her best friend.

Read more >>>
The Dark Inside by Rupert Wallis - Blog Tour!

,
Summary from Goodreads

When thirteen-year-old James discovers a homeless man in an abandoned house, the course of his life changes dramatically. Hoping to find a ‘cure’ for a dark curse inflicted on the homeless man, the pair embark on a journey together not knowing that what they discover will impact them both in ways they never imagined…A gripping and haunting story about loss and hope, perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and David Almond.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: January 30th 2014 by Simon and Schuster Children’s Books


My Review


Sometimes as a reader there are some truly rare unexpected moments, when a book creeps up on you quite surprise, grabs you, mesmerises you, sweeps you away on a roaring adventure filled with darkness….and hope – it’s those moments as a reader that I live for and crave, The Dark Inside has these beautiful qualities in bucket loads.Read more >>>

After Dead by Charlaine Harris

Summary from Goodreads

A must-have collection of juicy behind-the-scenes details and illustrations, to answer the ultimate Sookie Stackhouse and True Blood question: What Happened Next?!

DEAD EVER AFTER marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels – a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show TRUE BLOOD. It also stoked a hunger that will never die. . . a hunger to know what happened next.

With characters arranged alphabetically – from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli – bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favourite residents of Bon Temps and environs.… Read more >>>

Waiting on Wednesday #55

,

 “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:
 All is Silence by Robert L. Slater

Summary from Goodreads

In a future that could be ours, Lizzie, a suicidal teen-age girl, barely navigates her own life. Then everything falls apart. In an apocalyptic land nearly deserted by disease, she lacks reasons to live until a shocking turn of events reveals a phone number. Her call pulls her dangerously cross-country to meet a stranger she thought was dead.

In a world where there is plenty of food, plenty of gas, plenty of space… fear, anger and a lust for power still control the patterns of human life.… Read more >>>

The Engagements by J. Courtney Sullivan - Blog Tour!

,
Summary from Amazon UK

1947: Mary Frances Gerety, a young copywriter in an eminent advertising agency, has to convince the world of two things – that marriage means a diamond ring on every woman’s finger, and that she is as good at her job as any man. And then, in one moment of brilliant inspiration, Mary Frances writes down four words which will achieve both her aims . . .

Moving from a Harvard swim-meet in 1927 to the three-martini lunches of 1940s advertising, from the back streets of 1980s Boston to an exquisite Parisian music shop in 2003, The Engagements is a novel about love, marriage, commitment and betrayal; it is as sharp, as fiery and as beautiful as the stone we have taken to represent our dreams.

Read more >>>
Dead Ends by Erin Lange‏

Summary from Amazon UK

A riddle rarely makes sense the first time you hear it. The connection between Dane and Billy D doesn’t make sense any time you hear it. But it’s a collection of riddles that brings these two unlikely friends together.

Dane Washington lives by two rules: don’t hit girls and don’t hit special kids. Billy D has Down syndrome and thinks a fierce boy who won’t hit him could come in useful. Billy D has a puzzle to solve, after all, and he has the perfect plan to make Dane help him.

Billy is sure the riddles in his atlas are really clues left by his missing dad.… Read more >>>

Waiting on Wednesday #54

,
 “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:
The King by J.R.Ward

Summary from Goodreads

Now the Sunday Times bestselling series continues as a royal bloodline is compromised by a grave threat to the throne. Long live the King…After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle- with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything – and everyone- at risk.Read more >>>

Find Me by Romily Bernard - Blog Tour!

,

Summary from Goodreads

A girl is dead…
A killer’s closing in…
And two little words are the only clue…
“Find Me”.

These are the words that Wick Tate finds in Tessa Wayne’s diary. And now Tessa has been found … dead. Does someone out there really expect Wick to uncover the truth about her death?

An expert computer hacker, Wick has the skills for the job, but with the threat of her ex-con dad returning, the detective hunting him sniffing around and new foster parents to keep happy, getting involved with a murder case is the last thing she wants to do.… Read more >>>