November 2012

On The Cover #33

,

On The Cover is a feature I am going to do every(ish) Friday, Where I pick one book cover that sticks out, is really interesting or just beautiful. I think the cover of a book is very important, it’s the first thing a person sees and some of the time it’s the reason why a person will pick a book up and read the back. I will just pick a book that catches my eye from throughout the week.

 So come on Book Cover Lovers, share with me your favourite book covers.
My Pick This Week: 
 
 Summary
Chloe’s older sister, Ruby, is the girl everyone looks to and longs for, who can’t be captured or caged.Read more >>>
by
First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones

Summary from Goodreads

Private investigator Charlotte Davidson was born with three things: looks; a healthy respect for the male anatomy; and the rather odd job title of grim reaper. Since the age of five, she has been helping the departed solve the mysteries of their deaths so they can cross over. Thus, when three lawyers from the same law firm are murdered, they come to her to find their killer.

In the meantime, Charley’s dealing with a being more powerful – and definitely sexier – than any spectre she’s ever come across before. With the help of a pain-in-the-ass skip tracer, a dead pubescent gangbanger named Angel, and a lifetime supply of sarcasm, Charley sets out to solve the highest profile case of the year and discovers that dodging bullets isn’t nearly as dangerous as falling in love.… Read more >>>

by
Waiting on Wednesday #33

,

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:
 
Summary
A breathtaking journey toward self-discovery and true love, from the author of If I Stay
When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left.
Read more >>>
by
The Feathered Man by Jeremy de Quidt

Summary from Goodreads

In a German town, long ago, lives a tooth-puller’s boy called Klaus. It isn’t Klaus’s fault that he sees his master steal a diamond from the mouth of a dead man in Frau Drecht’s lodging house, or that Frau Drecht and her murderous son want it for themselves.

He has nothing to do with the Jesuit priest and his Aztec companion who turn up out of the blue looking for it, or the Professor of Anatomy who takes such a strange interest in it. No, Klaus doesn’t want any trouble.

But when he finds himself with the diamond in his pocket, things really can’t get much worse – that is, until the feathered man appears.… Read more >>>

by
This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers

My Review

Oliver Jeffers always manages to amaze us with his wonderful picture books! His style is unique, quirky and easily stands out from the crowd! My daughter’s favourite books always have Oliver Jeffers’ name on them and this one is no exception! This Moose Belongs to Me is such a brilliantly silly book that is a real hoot for reading out loud! The illustrations are a treat for the eyes and will easily keep little ones glued to the pages. We were laughing out loud like idiots at this super-fun storyline! This is yet again another winner from Oliver Jeffers and I am so pleased to say another one for out favourites shelf!… Read more >>>

by
On The Cover #32

,

On The Cover is a feature I am going to do every(ish) Friday, Where I pick one book cover that sticks out, is really interesting or just beautiful. I think the cover of a book is very important, it’s the first thing a person sees and some of the time it’s the reason why a person will pick a book up and read the back. I will just pick a book that catches my eye from throughout the week.

 So come on Book Cover Lovers, share with me your favourite book covers.
My Pick This Week: 
 
Summary
Tempest Maguire wants nothing more than to surf the killer waves near her California home; continue her steady relationship with her boyfriend, Mark; and take care of her brothers and surfer dad.Read more >>>
by
Beautiful Creatures - Movie Tie-in Cover Reveal & Giveaway

I am so excited to reveal the Beautiful Creatures movie tie-in cover here on Fiction Fascination today! As most of you probably already know Beautiful Creatures is my all time favourite series and I am super buzzing to see the film. If you haven’t already picked up this awesome series yet then you are seriously missing out, but I’m pleased to offer one lucky person a chance to win ALL 4 books (yes, you read that right)!! Thanks to Puffin for allowing me to have this giveaway today! Details below! So without further ado…..

On 21st November 2012, following publication of Beautiful Redemption, the final highly anticipated instalment in Garcia and Stohl’s Beautiful Creatures series, Puffin Books announces new acquisitions to the best-selling series.… Read more >>>
by
The Toymaker by Jeremy de Quidt

Summary from Goodreads

What good is a toy that will wind down? What if you could put a heart in one? A real heart. One that beat and beat and didn’t stop. What couldn’t you do if you could make a toy like that? From the moment Mathias becomes the owner of a mysterious piece of paper, he is in terrible danger. Entangled in devious plots and pursued by the sinister Doctor Leiter and his devilish toys, Mathias finds himself on a quest to uncover a deadly secret.

Paperback, 356 pages
Published by David Fickling Books

My Review
Wow! I loved The Toymaker, it is bone chillingly good, nail bitingly brilliant and wonderfully edgy!Read more >>>
by
The Great Granny Gang by Judith Kerr

My Review

The Great Granny Gang is a wonderfully warm hearted book from Judith Kerr that we thoroughly enjoyed! It is a real fun and witty book that will have you giggling out loud on occasion! The illustrations are fantastic, they are colourful, attractive, fun and capture the story perfectly. My daughter couldn’t believe all the hilarious things the great grannies got up to throughout the book as her great granny would never dream of doing anything of the sort. I don’t think just anyone would get away with writing such a cheeky little book and I wonder if Judith Kerr might get up to some of the same outrageous activities herself!?Read more >>>

by
Mystic City by Theo Lawrence

Summary from Goodreads

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City’s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents’ sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths.… Read more >>>

by