February 2014

The Spook's Revenge by Joseph Delaney

Summary from Goodreads

‘He’s the seventh son of a seventh son. His name is Thomas J. Ward and he’s my gift to the County. When he’s old enough we’ll send you word. Train him well. He’ll be the best apprentice you’ve ever had and he’ll also be your last.’

These were the words of Tom’s Mam to the county Spook some years ago. As Tom, the Spook and their allies prepare to battle with the Fiend on a huge scale, to finally enact their revenge, it now remains to be seen whether Mam’s declaration will come true.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published December 5th 2013 by Bodley Head

My Review

Aw, what a bitter-sweet moment this is!Read more >>>

by
Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Summary from Goodreads

Darkness never dies. Alina and Mal are on the run. Hunted and haunted, but together at last, they can’t outrun Alina’s past or her destiny forever. The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and he needs Alina to realise his dangerous plan. There are others who would like to use Alina’s gift too. And as her power grows, somehow, she must choose between her country, her power, and her love – or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm. Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.Read more >>>

by
Dead Ends by Erin Lange - Blog Tour!

,

Summary from Goodreads

Dane Washington and Billy D. couldn’t be more different. Dane is clever and popular, but he’s also a violent rebel. Billy D. has Down’s syndrome, plays by the rules and hangs out with teachers in his lunch break.

But Dane and Billy have more in common than they think – both their fathers are missing.

They’re going to have to suck up their differences and get on with helping each other. There are answers to be found.

Powerful, funny, moving – the ultimate coming-of-age novel.

Hardcover, 370 pages

Expected publication: February 6th 2014 by Faber and Faber

(You can check out my glowing 5* review of Dead Ends here)

About the author

Erin Lange writes facts by day and fiction by night.… Read more >>>

by
Waiting on Wednesday #57

,

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

Blackfin Sky by Kat Ellis

Summary from Goodreads

When Sky falls from Blackfin Pier and drowns on her sixteenth birthday, the whole town goes into mourning – until she shows up three months later like nothing happened.

Unravelling the mystery of those missing months takes Sky to the burned-out circus in the woods, where whispers of murder and kidnapping begin to reveal the town’s secrets. But Sky’s not the only one digging up the past – the old mime from the circus knows what happened to her, and he has more than one reason for keeping quiet about it.… Read more >>>

by
The Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Madow

Summary from Goodreads

Three sisters with Big secrets.
Get ready to meet…SAVANNAH COURTNEY PEYTON

The Diamond sisters never knew their father and never could catch a break. But their luck is about to change when they find out the secret identity of their long-lost dad – a billionaire Las Vegas hotel owner who wants them to come and live in a gorgeous penthouse suite.

Suddenly they have access to all that their dad’s money can provide, meaning it should be easier than ever to fit right in. But in a town full of secrets and illusions, fitting in is nothing compared with finding out the truth about their past…

Expected publication: March 7th 2014 by Mira Ink  

My Review

Oooh, this is a super glitzy and glamorous read full of the most fantastic trio of characters!Read more >>>

by
On the Cover #46

,

 On The Cover is a feature I am going to doing every now and again. I will pick one book cover that sticks out, is really interesting or just beautiful – I particularly like a book cover that has a stunning landscape.

 

I think the cover of a book is very important, it’s the first thing a person sees and some of the time it’s the reason why a person will pick a book up and read the back. I will just pick a book that catches my eye from throughout the week.
 
So come on Book Cover Lovers, share with me your favourite book covers.Read more >>>
by