All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill‏


Summary from Goodreads

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

Paperback, 362 pages
Expected publication: August 1st 2013 by Bloomsbury Childrens
My Review

Well wow, this is one of the most incredibly awesome debuts I have read so far this year. A real nail biting and mind boggling time warping adventure that will have readers everywhere always on the edge. I loved it!

Admittedly I was a little confused at the start, but it didn’t take me long to know who was who. Cristin Terrill’s writing is fabulous and she has written time travel how it should be. The transitions are perfect and I found myself entering each time period with ease!

I loved the very complicated romance, which I won’t talk about because it could be a bit spoilery!

I don’t think I’ve read time travel as good as this before and it’s definitely different from everything else out there at the moment. The action was raging from the off and I loved the complexity of the storyline. I ended up reading like a maniac to try and figure out this highly thrilling tale.

Main character is a great girl, she is so determined in what she needs to do to try and save her future and she will do anything to get it. She is tough, hardened by time and I really liked her. The secondary characters are also really strong and very interesting indeed.

It’s a hard storyline to try and explain properly, so I won’t even confuse you. The summary (above) sums thing up wonderfully.

I think the best part is the difference in the characters and the events that hardened and changed them along the way. They really do end up being completely different people.

The ending is spectacular and I loved every edge of my seat second! I actually thought this was a fantastic standalone, but I have recently discovered that there will be another book – which I’m already seriously excited about.

All Our Yesterdays is epic and I’m pretty sure people will be talking about it for a long time to come!

I apologise for my rambley review, it was just too hard to put my jumble of thoughts together for this one because it really did blow my mind!

4.5 / 5 Stars!

*Special thanks to Bloomsbury for the review copy*

Carly 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *