Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

kiss of broken glassSummary from Goodreads

Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published September 9th 2014 by HarperTeen

My Review

I’ve never read anything quite like Kiss of Broken Glass before. It’s dark, brooding and very brave! I completely understand and get that it’s not a story for everyone but I personally thought it was very beautiful in a very broken way.

It’s written in verse, which makes it very to the point and fast-flowing. I loved getting right to the heart of the story. Our main character has a very unique voice that I enjoyed a whole lot, even though it was quite tough going in places.

Self-harm is something that can destroy and take-over peoples lives. It’s tough for everyone involved and can put everyone in a very dark place. This storyline tackles this issue and others in a compelling, real and very memorable way. I’m ever so glad that the author was so fearless, never holding anything back. I felt like I knew main character, Kenna, she took me to her darkest places. I felt her pain.

Kiss of Broken Glass is a read that will stick with me for a very long time to come. The storyline is so breathtakingly real, utterly believable and totally compelling. I really can’t recommend this lyrical and very gripping tale enough.

4.5 / 5 Stars!

*Special thanks to Harper360 for providing the review copy in exchange for an honest review*

carlysig1

1 Comment


  1. // Reply

    I thought it was fabulous, too! Very Ellen Hopkins-esque, but also completely its own. Thanks for sharing your review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *