The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden - 10 Random Things Blog Tour Stop!

Summary

‘Frost-demons have no interest in mortal girls wed to mortal men. In the stories, they only come for the wild maiden.’

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods…

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman.

Read more >>>
THE WHITE TOWER by Cathryn Constable - Blog Tour Stop!

Summary

Alchemy meets dreamy reality in this new atmospheric adventure from the author of the bestselling debut, The Wolf Princess.

The White Tower is the uplifting and magical story of Livy, a young girl lost in throws of grief and forced to move schools. Struggling to cope with life, Livy finds solace high up on the rooftop amongst the domes and spires of her new home. With the perfect blend of science and dreamy reality, Constable paints a rich and atmospheric story of a lonely girl coming to terms with the death of her best friend and finding a way to let go of her pain.… Read more >>>

Tidal Patterns  by Rachelle Paige - Blog Tour Stop

thumbnail_tidal-patternsSummary:

Elizabeth Shaw is the preeminent, and only, wedding planner at the historic beach resort on Jekyll Island. She’s sure she’ll land the newly created role overseeing all major events. Then she’ll get a raise and won’t be forced to leave. Mark Edwards doesn’t need any more stress. He’s ready to slow down and enjoy the tiny seaside town he calls home. His boss pushes him to apply for the new management position and he agrees. After a decade in catering, he’s sure he can do the events job without any trouble. Neither counted on the other getting in the way.… Read more >>>

Duck Gets a Job by Sonny Ross (Review)

duckMy Thoughts

I LOVE Duck! His story is not only wonderful for children, adults could also learn a few things from Duck’s story!

Poor old Duck wants to be like other Ducks and get a job. His job ends up being boring and not very suited to him at all… Like a lot of us out there Duck wants more!

The illustrations are bold, blocky and very eye-catching. We loved watching Duck’s journey unfold so beautifully on paper.

Be like Duck and do something for yourself. Be brave, take a leap and follow your dreams. Duck Gets a Job is an uplifting story full of charm.… Read more >>>

Refuge by Anne Booth and Sam Usher (Review)

refuge-70903-3My Thoughts

Ah, wow! This book is a beauty!

It follows the birth of Jesus and the journey through danger to reach refuge in Egypt. The story is short but within the simple text lies the beauty.

I adored the hope and the gentle love that traveled the pages alongside the travellers. The illustrations are rather splendid and complement the story wonderfully.

Some money from the sales of this book goes to the very worthwhile War Child charity. They provide support to children in the world’s worst war zones.

Refuge is a real keeper that every child needs to add to their Christmas reading lists.… Read more >>>

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas by Darcie Boleyn - 10 Random Things Blog Tour Stop!

christmasSummary:

Lucie Quigley hates Christmas. It’s the time of year when everything goes wrong in her life. So this year, when she’s asked to be a bridesmaid at her friend Petra’s Manhattan wedding, she jumps at the invitation to escape the festivities. Dale Treharne has been best friends with Lucie for as long as he can remember. He’s used to looking out for his oldest friend and when she asks him to be her plus one, he can’t seem to find a reason to refuse. Instead, he sees it as a way to help Lucie get through what is, for her, the most miserable time of the year.… Read more >>>

10 Random Things about Able Seacat Simon by Lynne Barrett-Lee (Blog Tour Stop)

thumbnail_able-seacat-simonSummary

When an orphaned kitten is discovered in the Hong Kong docks in 1948 by a British sailor, he has no idea of the journey that awaits him. Smuggled onto HMS Amethyst and named ‘Simon’ by his new friends, the little cat quickly gets used to life on the seas and appoints himself chief rat-catcher.

When tragedy strikes, Seacat Simon keeps spirits up – but it’s a long and dangerous journey back to England for the heroic kitten and his crewmates . . .

Inspired by real events, this is the story of ‘Able Seacat’ Simon’s adventures and heroics in dangerous wartime seas, as told by the cat himself!… Read more >>>

Guest Post from Ally Sherrick Author of Black Powder

thumbnail_black-powder-jacketSummary from Goodreads

England, 1605. 12-year-old Tom must save his father from hanging. He falls in with a mysterious stranger – the Falcon – who promises to help him in exchange for his service. But on the long journey to London, Tom discovers the Falcon’s true mission – and a plot to blow up Parliament with barrels of black powder. Tom faces a terrible decision: secure his father’s release, or stop the assassination of the king …

Paperback, 368 pages
Published August 4th 2016 by Chicken House

Gunpowder, Treason and Plotting

Ally Sherrick, author of historical adventure Black Powder, talks about the real Gunpowder Plot and how it helped inspire her story.

Read more >>>
Murder in Midwinter by Fleur Hitchcock

murder-inSummary from Goodreads

Sat on the top of a bus days before Christmas, Maya sees a couple arguing violently in the middle of a crowded Regent Street. They see her watching, she looks away, and the woman disappears. Maya goes to the police, who shrug and send her away. Then a body turns up… Now convinced she is a vital witness to a crime, the police send Maya into hiding in rural Wales. She resolves to get to the bottom of the mystery. Then the snow comes and no one can get out. But what if someone can still get in?Read more >>>

10 Random Things About The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

the-womSummary from Goodreads

Lucy Acosta’s mother died when she was three. Growing up in a Victorian mansion in the middle of the woods with her cold, distant father, she explored the dark hallways of the estate with her cousin, Margaret. They’re inseparable—a family.

When her aunt Penelope, the only mother she’s ever known, tragically disappears while walking in the woods surrounding their estate, Lucy finds herself devastated and alone. Margaret has been spending a lot of time in the attic. She claims she can hear her dead mother’s voice whispering from the walls. Emotionally shut out by her father, Lucy watches helplessly as her cousin’s sanity slowly unravels.… Read more >>>