Waiting on Wednesday #68

,
 “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
 
This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:
Between the Spark and the Burn by April Genevieve Tucholke

Summary from Goodreads

The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it’s easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he’d done both to me.

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet’s life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River’s other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn’t long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .

Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: August 14th 2014 by Dial
 
Why this book?
 
Well, I adored the very stand out quirky characters in the first book and am very interested to see how they develop in this conclusion. I can’t wait to delve into this dark and very exciting world again. This is the US release date, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the UK’s is in and around the same time.

What are you ‘Waiting On’? 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *